About us

'Linking those who need help in the community with those who want to help.'

The Mid Ulster Volunteer Centre is committed to working with the community to encourage social inclusion and to help further personal development through volunteering and/or training.

We believe that empowerment is key to improving health and wellbeing as it is fundamentally about increasing individuals and communities’ control over their lives and their health.

The Volunteer Centre works in partnership with the Northern Health and Social Care Trust to provide an alternative to traditional day-care ‘The Base’ for local people with learning disabilities and empowers them to access local community services and facilities. The purpose of the Base provision is “To enhance the social inclusion and development of friendships for adults with learning disabilities.”

Our ‘Carefully Yours’ Project was developed using a comprehensive programme of activities to promote positive health and wellbeing among older people, including those in the early stage of dementia. It also aims to create awareness of the risks presented to older people as well as to provide support for caregivers. 

Our Team

Committee Members

Mrs May Devlin – Chair     

Mr Gerry Lynch – Vice Chair    

Mr Seamus Davey –  Treasurer   

Mrs Faith Wood

Staff

Centre Manager -      Michele McKeown

Centre Manager - Michele McKeown

michele@midulstervolunteercentre.org
075 9338 9461
028 7930 1862

Volunteering Team

Recruitment & Placement Officer -  Barbara Kennedy

Recruitment & Placement Officer - Barbara Kennedy

barbara@midulstervolunteercentre.org
075 8729 3458
028 7930 1862

Volunteering Support  Worker    -    Megan Bell

Volunteering Support Worker - Megan Bell

megan@midulstervolunteercentre.org
075 1316 2781
028 8676 1122

Carefully Yours Project

Carefully Yours Project Leader -  Mairead Devine

Carefully Yours Project Leader - Mairead Devine

mairead@midulstervolunteercentre.org
075 3969 7283
028 7930 1862

Carefully Yours Project Assistant - Natalie McCullagh

Carefully Yours Project Assistant - Natalie McCullagh

natalie@midulstervolunteercentre.org
077 4399 5727
028 7930 1862

The Base Team

Cookstown Base Co-ordinator - Sandra McKay

Cookstown Base Co-ordinator - Sandra McKay

sandra@midulstervolunteercentre.org
077 1401 9990

Cookstown Base Co-ordinator - Grace Morrow

Cookstown Base Co-ordinator - Grace Morrow

(on Maternity Leave)
grace@midulstervolunteercentre.org
077 1401 9990

Volunteers

We could not do all we do everyday without the numerous volunteers who help us within our centre.  They are an integral part of the team and we look forward to welcoming them back to our building very soon when its safe to do so.